Hunger Does Not Define Me

Author: Mmabatho Mathope
Hope For A Hungry Teenager

As I sat by the table
My stomach curled up like a fetus
Growling and moaning like an old sick dog
My mind raced a thousand miles
Thinking to myself 
As I watched my mother scrape the old wooden cupboards
Looking for the crumbs disguised as supper
I said to myself 
Hunger does not define me
Hunger is not my eternal prison
I can have a dry mouth but as I look towards the future
Hope is my armor 
Sweating is my shovel as I dig up my treasure
The gift of the ambitious mind
As I sat by the kitchen table
My stomach curled up like a fetus
Growling and moaning like an old sick dog
Hunger does not define me
Hunger is not my eternal prison
2 thoughts on “Hunger Does Not Define Me”

  1. Hi, I do believe this is a great web site. I stumbledupon it 😉 I may return once
    again since i have book marked it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may you be
    rich and continue to help others.

  2. It is the best time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to be happy.
    I’ve read this post and if I could I wish to suggest you some interesting things or advice.
    Perhaps you could write next articles referring to this article.
    I want to read more things about it!

What's Your Opinion?

