Home Improvement (Home is Where the Heart Is)

I was talking to a friend a couple of months ago. The subject of growing in God came up. She had some very wise thoughts on it.

“God never gives up on us. He loves for us to seek Him. I’ve been involved in all sorts of ministries in the church and have always tried to be the best Christian that I can. But he is still showing me even more, and I love that.”

No matter how grown you are in God, you can always grow more. It doesn’t matter if you got saved 10 years ago or just 10 minutes ago. There’s always room to grow. And you can drop seeds too.

Jesus told the parable of the sower in Matthew 13. The moral of it is, we’re the sower. We are to throw the seeds of the gospel out at anyone we can. Sometimes they’ll ignore it completely. Sometimes they’ll get choked out when they try to accept it. Sometimes they won’t be able to grow at all after accepting. Then there’s times when they’ll not only accept it, they’ll grow and flourish and sow their own seeds.

I know there’s always room for improvement, but I’m not nearly where I should be in my faith. This September marks 15 years since I accepted Christ into my life, and I should be a lot further along in my walk than I am. I don’t read my Bible much, let alone meditate on it. My devotional doesn’t help much, as it’s a very brief devotion, and has no questions or study guide to go with it.

I’m such a busy person, yet it’s mostly just stupid stuff I don’t need to do. I mean, yes I should do chores, yes I should take care of myself, but I was home alone from 8AM-1:30PM today and I spent most of that time on the computer. Taking out 30 minutes to shower, brush my hair and teeth, and take care of other basic things, that leaves 5 hours. If I spent just 30 minutes to an hour talking to God and spending time in the Word, I’d still have 4-4 1/2 hours to myself. That’s plenty of time to goof off. So why didn’t I? Because I forgot. That’s truly sad. That’s like forgetting about my earthly father. I could never forget Daddy. So why do I forget the Father who’s known me since before time began?

Today in church, my pastor preached on the Israelites wandering in the desert. It led into a discussion about improving in our faith. We start as infants. Then we begin to grow in our faith. Even once we ‘graduate’, we can always go back and learn more. Eternity is endless, and our faith should be too.

photo courtesy of houzz.com
photo courtesy of houzz.com
What's Your Opinion?

