The Chosen Generation

I was sitting in youth group a couple years ago as we continued a series we started last week called One Generation Away. It’s basically about we’re one generation away from either losing it all or changing the world. I must say, it’s true. Every generation gets further from the truth. As I think about that, I recall 1 Timothy 4:12, which says in the NLT translation, ‘Don’t let anyone think less of you because you are young. Be an example to all believers in what you say, in the way you live, in your love, your faith, and your purity.’ So it’s up to us. This generation is the future of the world. We’re going to run the world someday. What are we going to do when we have that power?

My youth leader told us there are two options for us as believers. Option 1 is to go to church, sing the songs, listen to the message, then go home like nothing ever happened. What happens in church stays in church, right? Wrong.

But there’s a second option. We go to church and learn and really, truly get it. We not only get it, but we live it too. Which one do you think is the right option?

The first thing we have to do is learn to listen to only the good advice. Don’t be stupid. Remember that bad company corrupts good character. Just look at what’s happening in the US. We made a not-so-wise decision in the 2008 election. Then we were stupid enough to do it again last year. Why? Because we listened to the wrong people.

The second thing to do is to find your sound and play it loud. In other words, find yourself, and when you do, don’t let go of that. Be yourself. Don’t let anyone change you. I’ve always been different, and usually I embrace that. There are days when I want to be more ‘normal’, but why should I be? So I can go sleep around, get high, drunk, and stoned, go listen to trashy music and dress like a harlot? I like my style. A former boyfriend of mine would tell me that I was a bad writer and send me songs to listen to so I could learn to write decent lyrics. At first I was hurt, but now I’ve decided to ignore him. It’s my style. It’s my life. I won’t change for anyone. Ever.

My point to all of this? We’re the chosen generation. God says to either be on fire or ice cold toward him. Which one will it be? This generation can’t stay lukewarm.

photo courtesy of aysp.ca
photo courtesy of aysp.ca
What's Your Opinion?

