Mountain-Moving Faith

OK, so something struck me during church last week. God always talks about having faith. It’s all over the Bible. Hebrews 11 talks all about faith in action. Jesus said in Matthew 17:20 that faith as small as a mustard seed can move mountains. In this entry, I will discuss this.

In Matthew 7, Jesus tells the Pharisees to stop being hypocrites. To take the plank out of their own eye before they worry about the speck in the eye of someone else. This was obviously an exaggeration. So was Matthew 17:20. Jesus didn’t really mean you could move mountains–but a little faith CAN go a long way.

Let me make something very, very clear: God WILL give you more than you can handle. But that’s because He’s expecting you to lean on Him for support. Put faith and trust in Him, and you’ll go far. According to the dictionary, faith is ‘confidence or TRUST in a person or thing’. Put enough faith in God, He’ll move mountains for you. Maybe not real ones, but how many times have you ever run into hard times and felt the weight of the world was on your shoulders?

Which brings me to another point. If you’re going through something, and you pray for God to take it away, He will…IF it’s according to His will. However, He will ALWAYS grant you the ability to get through it. I remember watching Evan Almighty years back, and one thing that stood out to me was when Evan’s wife was feeling overwhelmed and watching the news at a bar when God sat beside her. What he told her has stuck with me ever since I first saw it.

Let me ask you something. If someone prays for patience, you think God gives them patience? Or does He give them the opportunity to be patient? If he prayed for courage, does God give him courage, or does He give him opportunities to be courageous? If someone prayed for the family to be closer, do you think God zaps them with warm fuzzy feelings, or does He give them opportunities to love each other?

There’s one more thing I want to put out there. I have bipolar disorder, and there are days I just don’t want it anymore. I want to be done with it. I wish I didn’t have it, or that I didn’t need to constantly rely on medications and counseling to function like the average adult. But you know what? The last time I was thinking about it, I realized something. If God puts you through something like this, don’t you think it could be because He knows you can handle it better than someone else? God’s perfect, and just, and He knows what He’s doing.

photo courtesy of Jeremy Johnson
photo courtesy of Jeremy Johnson
What's Your Opinion?

