Three Ways My Life Has Changed for the Better in the Past Five Years

Author: Katie Glover

My life has changed in many ways in the past five years. Five years ago, I was in a relationship that would later eventually lead to the biggest relationship of my life and the heartbreak that would follow. I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder. I graduated high school. I was a freshman five years ago, and now here I am two years graduated. I’ll focus on those three things for this.

1. I got my heart mended, then broken again. I know, this doesn’t seem like it’s a ‘for the better’ thing, but it really is. The big relationship I was in was a bad idea. It hurt a lot when we finally broke up, but I’m slowly healing. It helped me realize there are better guys out there than the guy I thought I was in love with when I was a freshman. It helped me realize I wasn’t ready for a relationship then. I’m still not ready, really. My advice to anyone who’s going through heartache over a breakup? Don’t sweat it. It’ll hurt, I won’t lie about that, but just look on the bright side–it could be worse.

2. I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder. I was relieved to get that diagnosis, because it meant we finally, after all those years, knew what was wrong with me. We could finally do something about it. And while things have been rough here and there, I do think I’m doing better than I was before I was diagnosed. If you even SUSPECT something might be wrong with you, I think you need to look into it further. It could save your life. It saved mine.

3. I graduated. That was hard. That was VERY hard. Twice in high school I was failing 4 classes simutaneously. One of those times, I bailed myself out and the other time I was in the hospital for several days and my teachers just gave me As on all my makeup work and technically bailed me out. I slept through most of tenth, eleventh, and twelfth grade and somehow graduated with almost a 3.0. It was a really hard thing to do, but I managed it. Kids, stay in school and don’t give up. You never know how far you can bounce back from a bad grade on your report card.

What's Your Opinion?

