Afternoon Humility

Today’s Thoughts:

This is a story I posted on my Facebook a few months ago that I wanted to share with you all.

Afternoon Humility:

“A short while ago, my co-worker approached me about a woman who wanted to donate some food. Whenever the Volunteer Coordinator is out of the office, I fill in automatically. While getting the paperwork together, I legit was wondering why I wasn’t getting paid more for this because, technically, it’s outside of my job requirements. When I finally met up with the lady, it turned out that she was in need of food donations – not dropping them off. As I put a food bag together for her, I was completely humbled. The fact is that it’s not about salaries. It’s not about dollar-per-minute calculations. It’s about service and understanding that there is no price tag on what I’ve chosen to do with my life.

To be honest, me of all people should have known better and should have understood that everything I do is unto God, not self. It’s not about me. It’s about being a representation of God’s love to others- the only love sometimes that they’ll ever get to see. These are the moments that brought me to the non-profit sector in the first place. Giving back is simple in itself but is one of the most powerful things you can do. Her gratefulness shut down my pride instantly. I may not be where I want to but I’m exactly where God wants me….and that’s what matters most.”

Featured Image -- 2249
Leah O.

What's Your Opinion?

