Welcome to My Life By Katie Glover (Part One)

I’ve always been a bit different. Even when I was little. I went to a Christian school as a child I had a little brother who practically worshipped the ground I walked on. My parents have never gotten divorced. They still love each other after almost 24 years of marriage. I was a depressed child, but in hindsight, I don’t have much to complain about up to my 10th birthday.

I had an awesome 10th birthday party. IT was a mystery party. I had a lot of friends come, and we all had so much fun. However, things changed. Within a week, my parents announced my dad’s work had transferred him—to a plant almost 150 miles away from home. I was devastated to have to move. I mean, yeah, I complained a lot about my classmates, but I didn’t want to leave. Funny how that works. Never know what you’ve got till it’s gone.

Fast forward 6 months, to the very first day of school. 5th grade, new school, new classmates, new house, new city, new state. I told a kid off within hours of school starting. Then as I was getting on the bus, I banged my head on the front of the bus driver’s fan and got my hair caught in it. My new teacher had to cut my hair to free me.

After a disastrous first day, things just kept going downhill. The whole class turned on me. Down there, if you hadn’t been born and raised there, you had 2 options: conform to their ways, or become ridiculed. Guess which I picked. But I got a few snipes in on the other kids. I wasn’t as bad as they were, but every so often I’d have a clever comeback. One of mine actually stunned a whole class speechless.

5th grade was a picnic compared to 6th grade. In September, about a month after school started, I got into a fight with a friend over something I can’t remember and haven’t remembered in years. She and I butted heads A LOT after that. I believe we still were up to my last day of middle school. I went suicidal by mid-way through the year. Then things changed again. Shortly after wanting to kill myself, my mom made an announcement: She was pregnant. She found out a day after my 12th birthday. My brother was 8. They kept it a secret for a MONTH, simply because they wanted our family to be the first ones to know, and we weren’t going to see them for a while. So they told us right before Easter. We were ecstatic of course. I was even more so when we found out a couple months later that the sister I’d been praying for since my brother was born was on the way. My brother was mad, but they are pretty close now.

What's Your Opinion?

