Beauty is in the Eyes of the Beholder/Creator By Michelle Pohl (Final Part)

Generally, I have a thankful heart but I realized how much I took clear vision for granted. Why did I make this choice? So I would be considered beautiful in the eyes of others?

“Beauty hurts,” my grandmother used to say.

It hurts to be beautiful. It hurts when your grip slips from the curling iron and it touches your skin. It hurts to have your ears pierced. Underwire jabs into our arms and shape-ware squeezes our waist. I am amazed at the things we will put ourselves through in order to gain acceptance. I fell into the trap and put my vision at risk. I am thankful for God’s perfect grace that saw me through.

Beauty is not in the eye of the beholder, but in the eye of the Creator!

Psalm 45:11 NIV, The king is enthralled by your beauty; honor him, for he is your lord.

You are God’s masterpiece, His perfect creation. Yes, even with glasses and braces He sees you as His beautiful creation, a work of art. Your appearance and your achievements do not define you. What defines you is the fact that you are His child. You were created by God with the purpose to worship God. Our culture tells us to obsess over our outer looks so we will be noticed.

As God’s creation you should take care of your body and want to look your best, while being confident your beauty starts within. God does not want to change you into something you are not. He wants your heart to become more like His. So you blossom into the person He designed you to be. God made you an individual. Every time you compare yourself to others you will not feel beautiful. In faith, see yourself through His grace. Your true beauty will glow from within for others to see.

On the hard days when your world seems to be falling apart and your faith is weak, remember your biggest fear may become your trials. But with faith your trials will become your greatest triumph! Don’t accept defeat.

Joshua 1:5-6 NIV, No one will be able to stand against you all the days of your life. As I was with Moses, so I will be with you; I WILL NEVER LEAVE YOU OR FORSAKE YOU. BE STRONG AND COURAGEOUS, because you will lead these people to inherit the land I swore to their ancestors to give them.

Your beauty, your value, your identity is not in the approval of others’ words but in the actions of Jesus. He gave His life because He loves you. Through His sacrifice, God sees you as perfect.

What's Your Opinion?

