I am a Reader (Part One) by Katelyn Whitley

My  name  is  Courtney  Taylor,  and  I’m  a  bookaholic.

Now,  now.  Before  you  start  wondering  what  that  is  and  why  I  would  want  to  call  myself  that,  let  me  explain  to  you  a  thing.

Being  a  bookaholic  isn’t  exactly  a  bad  thing.  It’s  just  not  healthy  at  times.  Like  when  you  throw  a  book  out  of  your  window,  shattering  the  window  and  causing  the  book  to  land  on  your  70-year  old  neighbor’s  head.

But  that  was  just  one  time.

Image

Books  just  .  .  .  get  me.  They  understand  pain  and  struggles.  The  characters  inside  live  these  lives  that  no  one  can  imagine.  It  hurts  to  watch  them  struggle  through  their  problems,  prideful  and  stubborn.  Why?  Well,  I  guess  it  depends  on  the  reader,  really.  But  for  me,  it’s  because  I  see  myself  in  them.  I  know  that they  would  be  me.  And  it  hurts.

But  there  are  also  joys  when  reading.  Like  when  your  OTP  (AKA,  One  True  Pairing)  does  something  so  fluffy  and  cute,  you  could  almost  die.  Then  you  just  want  to  slide  onto  the  floor  while  screeching  like  a  pterodactyl.

Read the 2nd part of Katelyn’s story for the “Reading Rocks” writing contest next Thursday at 12:30 PM EST.

Congrats again to Katelyn for being the second winner of Voice4Society and Hope Alive Ministry’s first ever annual writing contest.

2 thoughts on “I am a Reader (Part One) by Katelyn Whitley”

What's Your Opinion?

