Voice4Society Meets Watoto Children’s Choir!

SO! As I told my Facebook friends, I went to the Watoto Children’s Choir concert at my church last Friday. (btw-If you aren’t having fun with us on Facebook, come on over! Here’s the link: http://www.facebook.com/Voice4Society).

MAN OH MAN!

It was absolutely wonderfulllllll ! This is the second time they are coming to Family Christian Center and I did not know it was possible for them to get better than the last time.

What or who is the Watoto Children’s Choir, you ask?

Well here is an excerpt from their website:

“Watoto Children’s Choirs have traveled internationally since 1994 as advocates for the estimated 50 million children in Africa, orphaned as a result of HIV/AIDS, war, poverty and disease. Accompanied by a team of adults, the choir presents Watoto’s vision and mission through their stories, music and dance. Watoto choirs act as ambassadors to raise awareness about the plight of the orphaned and vulnerable children of Africa.” 

It was an event not to be missed. They are the cutest group of kids ever, but do not let their cuteness fool you. These children have deep painful stories about abandonment, rejection, abuse, neglect, and more. However, they have each accepted Jesus and were rescued by mission workers and have been given a second chance at life. Their stories inspired me but I was also moved by the untold stories of the workers in these villages. Those who have decided to give back to humanity and give the less fortunate a better tomorrow.

They were little people with big testimonies of the grace and love of God.

You couldn’t help but to be moved to tears. Each story more compelling to the next made me cry over and over again. Not because of sadness, well partly because of sadness, but more-so because of the strength of each person. Let me tell you! If I could go on tour with them right then and there, I totally would! BUT I know that their visit to New Rochelle, NY was a reminder for me to stay committed to the purpose God has designed for me to fulfill, here in New York. I plan on visiting them with my friend Amber. We are trying to see if arrangements can be made for a summer visit. How awesome would that be?? Apparently, we can help out in the classrooms and by now – you all know I love kids and the youth. I will keep you all informed with that decision.

Who knows?

Maybe Voice4Society will visit Africa!

As always, thanks for reading!
-Tiffany J.

What's Your Opinion?

