YOW! Wilburne Mathurin in the HOUSE! (Part 1)

SO! As you all know, I am always looking for the next BIG thing when it comes to up-and-coming youth leaders worldwide. Through searching and keeping my eyes open on our social media sites, I came across a young man with a powerful story. Interested in music? Stay tuned!

Hello, I am 23 year old Wilburne Henry Mathurin from the island of Saint Lucia, located in the Caribbean. I was born on November 7, 1988 in Castries. I was raised in a single parent household as my father and mother were divorced when I was about 7 years of age. I have a sister who is 8 years older than I am and 3 older half brothers whom I have a little contact with. From a young age before my mother and father were divorced, my father was getting ready to take my sister and myself to school. I had a toy recorder and picked it up and played “Mary Had a Little Lamb” without ever playing it before, or anyone teaching it to me. From then, my musical air was apparent. At about 7, I began singing at my infant school, St. Aloysius R.C. Boys’ Infant School, during morning prayer sessions through the intercom and later on sang for my First Communion. I sang in front of the entire congregation by myself. From that moment, one of the priests, Fr. Theo, then gave me the title “The Singer” and would often call me to sing in front of the church on Sundays.

Around that time, I was obsessed with microphones and always used to ask my mother to buy one for me.  My enthusiasm for music increased, but my spirituality wasn’t all there as yet. I began listening to dub music as it was the common trend for boys at my school. When I was about 12, I joined the youth choir at church “Cathedral Junior Choir” and subsequently joined my school choir “Babonneau Secondary School Choir” where I sharpened my skills in singing. I later joined another choir but didn’t stay for long “National Youth Choir”. When I was about 15 years, old, I attended a summer programme with a church group from Trinidad and Tobago called “The People of Praise”. They held several sessions with the youth of my parish of which one of the topics was the music the young people listen to and the impact that music plays in one’s life. From there, I made a conscious decision to put aside worldly music and start using my gifts for the Lord.

In 2006, I went to Trinidad to visit the “People of Praise” along with the Cathedral Junior Choir. We did a “Life in the Spirit Seminar” which was very fruitful as everyone in attendance benefitted greatly. This happened around Easter time in 2006. The Holy Spirit was truly present and many received gifts such as the gift of prophecy and the gift of tongues. At first, this experience was kind of difficult for me as I saw everyone around me being touched and I wasn’t feeling anything. Later on, my choir had to sing “You Raise Me Up” and I had to sing a verse in it. Since it was short notice, I had a book with the words written down singing from it.

When we came into the chorus after that verse, something in me just clicked. It was not me singing again. My eyes unwillingly began to shut, and I couldn’t control myself. My heart burned within me cause I could feel the holy presence over me. This indeed was the best experience I’ve ever had in my life. Up to this day when I sing at times, this happens; not exactly as in Trinidad, but I still feel the presence and my eyes still shut unwillingly. From that moment, I started composing for the Lord seriously. And here I am today starting my dream of becoming a full-time gospel artiste. My philosophy is that people can listen to gospel music and music which conscious messages and still enjoy it. The song doesn’t need obscenities or immoral messages to enhance it. So I’m determined to give each song 110% to make sure the listener both enjoys it, and more importantly, gets the message.

 Stay Tuned for Part 2 Coming Up Next Week!!

What's Your Opinion?

