In The Process Of Writing A Legend

*Mr. Darnell Smith is nothing  short of amazing. Young in age but wise in heart. Graduating on Saturday with his Bachelors in Criminal Justice with Honors, Mr. Smith is taking the world by storm. Mock trial competitions, Honors colloquiums, and managing several parts of campus life, are just a few ventures on his ToDo list. Many who know him personally know that despite his hectic schedule, preparations for law school, and risk taking experiences, deep down he is one of the most down-to-earth kids on the block.

Mr. Smith has been dreaming for a long time. Let’s find out what he is dreaming about….

I know who you are but could you tell me about yourself?
I am an artist with an addiction to success. I am a forward thinker with a backwards past. Sometimes I can be a human being, just like you.

Where does your inspiration come from?
My inspiration comes from life itself. At one point its so sure and then at another, it can become so unclear. I’ve grown up being very observant. I know this cycle. I’ve watched it in others and I’ve watched it in myself.

In  The Process of Writing a Legend…. History / Background ?
I started Writing a Legend in 2009 at a very premature time. It had no purpose and it had no direction. It has now begun to mean the documentation of a story which I someday hope will be called legendary. It is my process. It is my legend. Yet, it is a process; it just doesn’t happen overnight. My two biggest fears are failing to reach my goals and to be alone. I don’t want to be so focused on success that I miss the opportunity to spend the rest of my life with the girl of my dreams. I’m searching for a balance between these two warring concepts. To me, Writing a Legend means everything. It is more than just a description of what I’m doing, but it is a state of mind. It’s the mindframe that your story is already a legend and nothing less.

Who is your role model?
I really do not have any role models. However, I am, inspired by those who are trying to get ahead. I don’t believe in role-models because perfection doesn’t exist. To call someone a role model is to say that they set the right example, all the time. Again, nobody is perfect.

What is your definition of success?
This honestly is a tough question. Success is such a subjective term and it can mean anything to anybody. I have started defining it as a slow moving process that is measured through progress. I think it requires one to stop what they are doing and look at how far they have come. As for me, I am not ready to stop what I’m doing to turn around and look back

Why does success mean so much to you?
For me, its all about never settling. I honestly envy those who wake up every morning fully content about their lives. I want that!!!

What do you think is the reason so many young people are struggling career-wise?
Honestly, I don’t know. I think we make a huge mistake by undermining the power of our dreams. It sounds cliché, but think about it. If you love something, you put your all into it. When your all is into it, you make quality product and quality product produces quality compensation. I think young people need to find their passion and put their all into it. I sometimes think that young people are afraid  to work hard too. Nobody is no longer patient. This is a world about instant gratification and we need things “now”. We need that new laptop “now”. We need those new Jordans “now”. Likewise, we need success “now”. What then would be the purpose of a dream?

So, what are you doing to help this generation?
Unfortunately nothing that is getting me to a bigger platform so I could help others

Closing advice to your readers?
Write your legend or fail trying

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

There ya have it folks!  Mr. Darnell Smith, future attorney and author. You have been the first to get a sneak peek into his soon book. Like he said, he is writing his story, his legend. Just like myself, Mr. Smith is a blogger as well. If you would like to contact him for networking purposes there are several ways to do so:

Email: Darnell4850@aol.com
Blog: www.writingalegend.com
Blog: www.writingalegend.tumblr.com
Twitter: www.twitter.com/Darnell_Smith

THANKS DARNELL!!

 Stay tuned…. (we are just getting started!)

What's Your Opinion?

